New Release in the Knights of Honor Series by Alexa Aston

Alexa Aston with you today at Embracing Romance, beaming from the rooftop because the 5th book in my medieval romance series, the Knights of Honor, is now out!

Heart of Honor can be read as a standalone historical romance. It’s the first in the series to spotlight one of Geoffrey & Merryn de Montfort’s children. Alys is their oldest daughter, beating her brother, Ancel, out of the womb by a couple of minutes—and Alys never lets her twin forget that!

It was fun to write Alys as a six-year-old and age her as the series has progressed. Now, she’s old enough to receive her very own love story, as will all her siblings.


1375 A.D. – When Sir Christopher “Kit” Emory’s beloved mother falls ill, he decides to seek the help of someone he met briefly at the royal court years ago—Lady Alys de Montfort, a renowned healer despite her young age. While traveling to her home at Kinwick Castle, Kit is accosted by a band of highwayman, who beat and rob him, leaving him to die. Fortunately, an escort party comes across him and Lady Alys insists they take the stranger home so she can use her skill in the healing arts to save his life.

The man awakens and has no memory of his identity, but Alys believes he might be Kit Emory, a young man she’d met once when she was a young girl. Kit comforted her when the queen died and Alys never forgot his kindness to her. Alys does what she can to jog Kit’s memory, even as she struggles with her growing attraction to him, knowing Kit was betrothed and must now be wed. Kit also finds his desire deepening for Alys, but he doesn’t know his own name, much less if he has a wife or family. Until he recalls who he is, he refuses to commit his heart to Alys.

Once Kit regains his memory and realizes he is free to pursue Alys, their road to love is anything but smooth.

Join Kit and Alys as they overcome events that continue to tear them apart and threaten the love they have for one another.

Each book in the Knights of Honor series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Series Order:
Book #1 Word of Honor
Book #2 Marked by Honor
Book #3 Code of Honor
Book #4 Journey to Honor


“I sought you out,” Kit said, his voice low. “Though years had passed, I remembered you from court. My mother needed a healer. I could think of no one else I could trust.” Kit shoved her away.

Alys’ breath caught in her throat. So he had been on his way to Kinwick—to see her—when accosted on the road. She longed to comfort him but the waves of rage coming from him had her keep her distance.

“You could never understand, surrounded by so many family members who love and support you. You live in a happy place and lead a charmed life. Mine has been far from that. Mother is all I have. My father spends most of his time away at court and when he was at Brentwood? He despised me because I was reckless and impulsive, nothing like him. My mother took time to teach me. She’s always been a calming influence on me. Under her tutelage, I learned and matured.”

Kit raked his hands through his hair in frustration. “You withheld my identity from me. That may have slowed the memories from returning more rapidly to me.” His eyes darkened in fury. “Worst of all, Mother has had no relief. She has lain at Brentwood all this time, waiting for me to return. With you. The healer I promised would solve what ailed her. Her illness might have worsened—and she’s had no word from me.” He swallowed. “She might think I am dead.”

Kit had sworn she lived a charmed life but Alys only knew her heart was now torn asunder by the mistakes she had made.

“I have no way to make it up to you,” she said quietly. “No apology will suffice.”

He stood glaring at her. Alys gathered her courage and pushed ahead.

“Truly, I did not know you at first,” she said quietly. “Your face was so swollen and bloodied from the beating you had taken. As you began to heal, I sensed something familiar about you. But six years had passed, Kit, and I had only seen you once. You’d grown from a boy into manhood. I wasn’t sure it was you. Doubt plagued me. I didn’t want to share with you who I thought you might be and give you false hope.”

Even in the dim light, she saw the flush of anger that filled his cheeks. “The truth, Alys. I’ll have it. When did you realize it was me?”

“When I was in your arms,” she confessed, her gaze steady. “It was when I became absolutely certain.”


Follow Lauren Linwood:

As a child, Lauren Linwood gathered her neighborhood friends together and made up stories for them to act out, her first venture into creating memorable characters. Following her passion for history and love of learning, she became a teacher who began writing on the side to maintain her sanity in a sea of teenage hormones. Lauren’s historical novels focus on two of her favorite eras—medieval times and the American Old West. History is the backdrop that places her characters in extraordinary circumstances, where their intense desire and yearning for one another grows into the treasured gift of love. She also writes romantic suspense, where modern heroes and heroines unite to defeat a strong antagonist and discover a deep, abiding love during their journey. Lauren, a native Texan, lives in a Dallas suburb with her family. An avid reader, moviegoer, and sports fan, she manages stress by alternating yoga with five mile walks. She is thinking about starting a support group for House Hunters addicts—as soon as she finishes her next piece of dark chocolate.

2 Responses